13 members appointed to Cleveland Community Police Commission

CLEVELAND – Cleveland’s mayor swore in 13 members of a new commission that will make recommendations to city leaders about how to reform the Cleveland Police Department during a ceremony Tuesday afternoon.

The members include a doctor, a law student, a high school music teacher, two religious leaders, and representatives from each of the city’s three police unions.

The following is a list of the names and titles of Community Police Commission members:

  • Mr. Anthony Body, Good Neighbor Ambassador Supervisor, Northeast Ohio Regional Sewer District
  • Mr. Craig Boise, Dean and Professor, Cleveland-Marshall College of Law, Cleveland State University
  • Dr. Kathleen Clegg, Medical Director, Recovery Resources; Director, Medical Student Education, UH Case Medical Center; and, Associate Professor, Psychiatry, CWRU School of Medicine
  • Mr. Mario Clopton, Teacher,  Shaker Heights City Schools
  • Rev. Dr. Yvonne Conner, Retired, Greater Cleveland Congregations
  • The Honorable Lee Fisher, President & CEO, CEOs for Cities
  • Ms. Amanda King, Graduate Diversity Coordinator, Office of Multicultural Affairs, Case Western Reserve University
  • Rev. Max Rodas, Executive Director,  Nueva Luz Urban Resource Center
  • Mr. Dylan Sellers, Children’s Defense Fund Freedom Schools
  • Dr. Rhonda  Williams, Associate Director of History/ Director, Social Justice Institute, Case Western Reserve University

Cleveland Police Patrolmen’s Association (CPPA) Commission Member:

  • Steven Loomis, President, Cleveland Police Patrolmen’s Association

Fraternal Order of Police (FOP) Commission Member:

  • Timothy Higgins, Sergeant, City of Cleveland, Bureau of Community Policing

Black Shield Police Association Commission Member:

  • Detective Lynn Hampton, Cleveland Division of Police, Personnel Department and President of the Black Shield Police Association

The Community Police Commission was created as part of the settlement agreement between Cleveland and the U.S. Department of Justice. The agreement was reached after a DOJ investigation found Cleveland police officers have a pattern of using excessive force.

Close to 200 people applied to be appointed to the commission. A Selection Panel appointed by Mayor Jackson interviewed and chose the 10 non-police members.

The members will serve four-year terms.

According to the settlement agreement, the commission must hold public meetings around the city and assess and make recommendations about the city’s bias-free policing policies, practices, and training within 90 days.

Follow Sarah Buduson on Facebook and Twitter